Cave Hill

There was still one place I hadn’t been yet in Belfast and that was cave hill.  The only thing I knew about it was that it was a hiking trail and the view was supposed to be amazing.  I hadn’t yet gone as it was one of those things that I just kept putting off, but since I only had about a week left I knew it was time to go.  The bus ride was short and then a short walk to where the trail begins.  We started with a look at Belfast castle, which had a lot of cat statues around it, and then tried to find which path we wanted to walk up.

Belfast Castle

We looked at a sign that told was which path led to Cave Hill and next to it was a warning about taking a path called the Sheep’s Path which you would encounter after the Cave as a different, slightly harder, and more dangerous way to get to the top.  We payed this no mind as we didn’t think we would even be able to find it.

The walk up was fairly steep, and when we finally reached the cave we climbed up in to see what it was like.

The Cave

After that I noticed a smaller path leading to the top and suggested we take it as it looked more fun and maybe even slightly quicker.  It turns out that this was the Sheep’s path, and although it was slightly harder and more dangerous it was definitely fun.  And the view from the top was amazing.  I just wish I had discovered it earlier so I could have enjoyed it a few more times.

On the way back down the other side we suddenly had a bunch of horses cross our path.  There was no one with them and they weren’t tethered or fenced in by anything.  They payed us no mind and went down a different path than the one we were headed.  Afterwards we still couldn’t quite figure out if they were owned horses or if they were wild.

View of Belfast Castle from the top of Cave Hill

 

The Top

One of the horses with its colt.

About wilkemw

I'm studying film in Belfast until June, this blog will keep you updated with what I'm doing and where I've been.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

