Giants Causeway

After hearing that the Giants Causeway was one of the most beautiful places in Northern Ireland, me and few other international students decided to take a bus tour that would take us there and a few other places as well.  The tour started at 9 so I got up around 8 to meet everyone and catch a bus to the city center where we got on the bus that would take us on the tour.

The view on the bus ride to the causeway was amazing, unfortunately I had to close my eyes for a large part of it because the winding roads and rocking bus.  I wasn’t the only one; by the time we stopped for a quick break most people seemed eager to get off and catch some air.  After about 2 hours we finally reached the causeway which had some of the best views I’ve ever seen.   The causeway was formed by volcanic rock, but legend says that it was formed from 2 giants hurling stones at each other, hence the name.

After the causeway we took a quick stop at Bushmills Whiskey Distillery, which is considered the oldest distillery in the world.  We only spent about 20 minutes there, not enough time to take the tour, just enough time to get a quick look around.

After the distillery we went to the area where the Carrickarade rope bridge is.  Carrickarade is a long bridge between two big cliff faces by the water.  We were told that on clear days you could see Scotland across the way, but it was too foggy for us to see it.  The view was absolutely amazing.

After the bridge we got on the bus and headed for home.

Even though we spent the whole day there, there’s really not much to say, just a lot to see.  The rest of the pictures are posted on my facebook if you want to see.  It was a great day and I hope to go back one more time before my time here is over.

About wilkemw

I'm studying film in Belfast until June, this blog will keep you updated with what I'm doing and where I've been.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

